Grocery stores carry an array of great-tasting accidentally vegan food and snacks, including some items that you might not know, are animal-free. “Accidentally vegan” foods are those that were not created intentionally to be marketed to vegan eaters, but happen to be dairy, egg, and animal free anyway, so everybody wins!’
If you’re a vegan veteran, you might already know a few of these clever cheats – and if you’re just starting out then we hope this helps to make good shopping that little bit easier.
1. Ritz Crackers
Don’t let the rich buttery taste fool you — these are completely butter-free. They’re great with budget meats and cheeses or vegan-friendly toppings like peanut butter.
2. Sour Patch Kids
Sure, you can’t have M&Ms or Skittles or trays of nachos with disconcertingly neon yellow cheese dip when you go to movies as a vegan. But you can have Sour Patch Kids. They’re free of gelatin but still coated in enough sour crystals to make your tongue slightly raw.
Although the widely accepted method of eating these delights involves a twist and a milk dunk, the sweet creme-stuffed cookie contains zero dairy products.
4. Lindt Chocolate Bars
Being vegan doesn’t mean giving up chocolate. No one should ever be asked to do that. The 70% cacao bar from Lindt is there to take care of any chocolate cravings without involving any animal products. Things start to get dicier once you go down to 60% cacao, so definitely stick to the darker stuff.
5. Lay’s Classic Potato Chips
Vegans can rejoice knowing that they, too, can continue to get super-salty potato grease mush stuck in all their molars. Just be sure to stick to the classic, salted version.
The only ingredients found in the original Fritos are corn, corn oil, and salt, which is a refreshingly small number of ingredients for such a popular salty snack. Notably, not one of those ingredients is derived from a living creature.
All Twizzler products are kosher certified by the Orthodox Union. They do not contain animal gelatin or other animal products and are approved as a vegan-edible candy. All varieties of Twizzlers are vegan (and Red Vines are, too).
8. Unsweetened Pop Tarts
Pop-Tarts can be a vegan’s best friend if they are the unfrosted strawberry, blueberry, and brown sugar-cinnamon varieties. Honestly, unfrosted Pop-Tarts are wildly underrated. When there’s no icing, you appreciate the pastry for what it is: an utterly delicious flaky-ish, fake-tasting breakfast treat that’s totally vegan-friendly. It’s almost more surprising that the icing does actually contain real milk products.
9. Thin Mints
A sleeve at a time, straight out of the freezer, or with your mom — no matter how you chow down on this seasonal favorite you can rest easy knowing no animals were harmed in the making of these minty chocolatey delights.
10. Nutter Butter Cookies
They’re gritty, sweet, and salty, and they don’t really taste like peanut butter, but hey, they’re safe for vegans, and they’re shaped like peanuts, so you can’t go wrong.
We hope you find your favorite vegan snacks on this list and go on a grocery spree asap!